RSS

A Bit of Background

16 Jan

It seems only fair that i give a bit of background into my circumstances before i start ranting and raving or singing and praising about my time on the Work Programme as i understand everyone’s circumstances are different in regards to this scheme and some things discussed may have little relevance to some or a lot to others.

I go by the name of Alex, i’m twenty two and have been unemployed for nine months, i have no dependents and i do not have any physical or mental difficulties, i am as they say, Job Ready.

Previously i was working as a Web Designer / Employability Support Worker within a local unemployment charity, however, this was through the Future Jobs Fund and once my 6 months was up, the charity had not been able to secure funding to keep my role within the organisation, i did however stay on as a volunteer working in a reduced role and signed up for Job Seekers Allowance two weeks after my contract had ended.

I have claimed JSA in the past and my experiences back then were, for want of a better word, dismal. Constantly talked down to, rushed in to sign and claim (Advisors only had four minutes of time allocated for each client, mercifully this has been boosted to seven minutes recently) and little to no assistance was given if i had found a job i was interested in.

This time round however, i found the Jobcentre helpful and understanding of my circumstances and i’m thankful to my advisors who encouraged and supported me through this turbulent time, both personally and on a wider, national scale.

I have been putting effort into my job searches and applications and out of the near 200 applied for, not one has resulted in an interview or even a call back.

I have only just been referred to the Work Programme and have yet to attend my first appointment.

With this Blog, i do not intend to use it as a wailing wall, bashing the WP or the Government left right and centre, i want to use it to share my experiences, delights and frustrations whilst on the Work Programme. I am lucky in a sense that i have just a marginal bit more insight into the world of Employability and i hope to use this to my best advantage as this field of interest is one i also wish to make my Career out of.

**UPDATE**

The initial contact stages with my WP Prime have not gone as smoothly as hoped. I was told by my JCP Advisor to expect a call about my first appointment and then a letter. The call came the next day, yet nothing was said. After answering and saying “Hello” to what sounded like an office environment for around thirty seconds, i got no response and just as i hung up, i hear “Hello Mr-“. I immediately rang back, however no one was available to take my call. Hopefully i will receive a call today about this appointment, i’m worried already, what if the mail doesn’t come and i miss the appointment?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 16, 2012 in Work Programme

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Discuss this Post

 
